The most famous churches in Latali are Matskhvari, Matskhovari Church (village Matskhvarishi), Taringzeli - the Archangel's Church (village Matskhvarishi), Jgragi - Saint George's Church (village Lankvami) and Ieni (in village Iena).There are about twenty five; most of them ruined. The Matskhvari Church is built on heights, at the foot of which passes the main road. The church was built in XI-XII centuries, while its bell tower constructed on four pillars belongs to XVII - XVIII centuries. The Matskhvari is Latali's main Church. The Matskhvari was painted in 1142 year by Miqael Maghlakelidze. Here besides traditional subjects from the gospel you can see an interesting and unique fresco.
Churches of Lenjerii
The Our Savior Church of (Nesguni) offers an exterior fresco painting of the beginning of the 10th century. XIV century frescos of Taringzeli church illustrate lay episodes mainly from the legend on Amirani. Together with the Chazhashi Church, the Lenjeri temple of Taringzeli is the only church in Georgia, which keeps Georgian monumental lay paintings. Here in the shrine is the image of a holy father of the world church, St. Maxim the Confessor in a pontiff's vestments. There is no other image of the father Maxim the Confessor in Georgia, neither on a fresco nor on an icon. The another Lenjeri Church of Archangel in the village of Mukheri (mukhuri) was built by Iveldiani in XV-XVI cc, a beautiful building with original paintings both inside and outside.
Martvili Monastic Complex
Martvili Monastic Complex has a strategic geographic location from where most of western Georgia can be seen. The main Cathedral is named "Blessed Vergin Repose Cathedral". During the Turkish-Arabic invasions it was almost completely destroyed, but in the 10th century Giorgi II rebuilt it. Some of 14th, 15th, 16th, and 17th century frescos are still preserved in the main Cathedral and they represent some of the highest quality craftsmanship in the Georgian history. To the north of the Cathedral there is a miniature stone church which is called Holy Christmas Cathedral or Church of Chikvanebi. In 2007, with the prayer of Leading Episcopos Peter of Chkondidi, Matrivili became a monastic complex again.
Present aspect of Metekhi Church of Holy Virgin dates back to the XIII century. It was constructed during the period of Mongol invasion in 1276 - 1289 by the King Demetre Self-Sacrificer on the site of an old temple- burial place of Saint Shushanik. The fortress, surrounding the Church was destroyed in 1819, upon Russian annexation of Georgia and the building material was used for the construction of dungeon
The Kashveti Church of St. George is a Georgian Orthodox church in central Tbilisi, located across from the Parliament building on Rustaveli Avenue. The Kashveti church was constructed between 1904 and 1910 by the architect L. Bilfeldt, who based his design on the medieval Samtavisi Cathedral. The church is distinguished by richness of ornamentation, especially by the stone carvings around windows, arches and corners The name "kashveti" is derived from Georgian words kva for "a stone" and shva "to give birth". Legend has it the prominent 6th-century monk David of Gareja was accused by a woman of making her pregnant in Tbilisi. David prophesied his denial would be proved when she gave birth to a stone. She did, and the place received the name of "k(v)ashveti".
The name is connected with the Jerusalem Sion Temple. The church is devoted to the Dormition of Holy Virgin. The construction was begun in the VI century. Present aspect of the Church dates back to the XI- XII c.c. The façade of the temple is coated with Bolnisi tufa tiles. Sioni Church is cruciform-domed church, the dome is supported by two walls and of the altar and two pillars. The mural paintings were accomplished by Russian artist Gregory Gagarin. Modern frescoes painted by Levan Tsutskiridze. Sioni church is particular for its ascetic design. The most perishable relic of Georgian Christian heritage, the cross of Saint Nino is stored at Sioni Church.
Holy Trinity Cathedral
The Tbilisi Holy Trinity Cathedral commonly known as Sameba (Trinity), erected on the Elia Hill, is the main Georgian Orthodox Christian cathedral, located in Tbilisi. Constructed between 1995 and 2004, it is the largest religious building not only in Georgia but in the region of South Caucasus, and is listed among the largest Orthodox churches in the world. The dome is surmounted by a 7.5 meter-high cross covered with gold. The Cathedral consists of nine chapels, five of them situated in a large underground compartment. The space totals 2,380 square meters. The height of the cathedral from the ground to the top of the cross is 84 meters.
Mtatsminda (Mama Daviti Church)
The Mtatsminda Pantheon of Writers and Public Figures is a necropolis in Tbilisi, where some of the most prominent writers, artists, scholars, and national heroes of Georgia are buried. It was officially established in 1929. The Pantheon is located on the slope of Mount Mtatsminda (meaning the Holy Mountain) in the courtyard around St. David's Church "Mamadaviti". The church dates from 1879 and was built on the original site of Saint David's cell. David came to Georgia as one of the thirteen Syrian fathers to preach Christianity. He has chosen this mountain, uninhabited at that time and slightly away from the town and lived there in a cell. The interior of the present church is fully decorated with frescoes.
The main citadel of the city - "Deda-Tsikhe" was constructed in the IV century, by the king Varaz Bakuri. The denomination consists of two words: narin- minor, kala- fort. The fort is constructed in complicated architectural manner, with number of construction strata; among them Stambolis Koshki (Istanbul Tower) is the most valuable (XVI c.). During the Archeological excavations the ruins of Saint Nikoloz Church were disclosed, on the site of which a new Church was erected. The interior is decorated with frescoes, depicting both biblical scenes and the history of Georgia.