Ioseb Grishashvili Tbilisi History Museumz
The Tbilisi History Museum was founded in 1910 as a City Municipal Museum. Lately it was given the name of the famous Georgian poet Ioseb Grishashvili. Since 1984 the Tbilisi History Museum's been placed in the building of "Karvasla". The museum houses over 50 thousand exhibits. They reflect Tbilisi history from the end of the IV millennium to this date. The museum presents archeological, ethnological and documental materials as well as the pieces of national and applied arts, a rich photo-collection etc. A number of unique works of artistic and graphic arts are also preserved in this museum. Together with the old works the museum also exposes the pieces of contemporary art.
Vani Archeological Museum-Reserve
Vani archeological Museum-reserve, situated on the hill close to the town of Vani in the western Georgia, was founded on April, 21, 1981 on the base of the local lore museum and was opened in September, 1985 during the international Symposium. The museum includes: Site of Vani, expedition base and the museum itself. The museum houses the majority of the archeological materials discovered in the site of Vani. In 1987, after discovery of the rich burial, the Gold Fund was opened at the Museum, which preserves the unique pieces of Vani Goldsmith. The exposition covers the period from VIII c. BC to I c. AD. The constant exhibition exposes architectural and goldsmith materials as well as the unique bronze statues and their fragments. Vani hosts annual international symposiums over the issues of history and archeology of the ancient Mediterranean countries.
Dmanisi Museum-Reserve of History and Architectur
Dmanisi Museum-Reserve was founded in 1983 on base of the Dmanisi monument. The museum represents the medieval town of Dmanisi and the geological layer dating back to 1.8 million years, which is rich for the oldest hominid and animal remains. Since 1991 five sculls of prehistoric hominids have been found in the site. It's notable that there is no analogue of discovery such many hominid remains in one archeological site. These results caused the great interest of the international community of scientists, as it changed the whole theory of human spreading outside Africa. The medieval archeological monument includes the inner castle, secular buildings, shrines and the secret tunnel. Among the shrines, the VI c. Dmanisi Sioni is of the utmost interest, with the XIII c. unique gate with the ornaments and manuscripts on it
Dadiani's Palace
The Dadianis' palace is situated in Zugiddi (the north-west of Samegrelo - West Georgia). The museum complex includes: palaces of the Samegrelo queen Ekaterine Chavchavadze-Dadiani and Prince Niko Dadiani, court church, and the magnificent botanic garden (60-90-ies of the XIX c.). In 1850 Prince David Dadiani organized a museum in the palace, where were displayed discovered during accidental excavations unique numismatic materials from the Archaeopolis (Samegrelo region, present day village Nokalakevi), as well as Dadiani family collections of medieval European armor and weapons, ethnographic objects, and fine art. It was one of the major cultural centers in 19th century Georgia. At the present in the museum are kept: samples of the I c. B.C. - XIX A.D. goldsmith works; archaeological materials representing antique period Greek and Georgian culture; relics of Samegrelo princes, royal families of France (numerous items connected with the Napoleon Buonaparte, from Ashil Miurat - Son in law of David Dadiani), Russia, Spain; libraries of Napoleon (6.000 items) and Dadiani family; Napoleon's death mask is on display in the Zugdidi historical museum. The museum funds: 44 475 items.
Stalin's Museum
The Joseph Stalin Museum in Gori, is dedicated to the life of the dictator, who was born in Gori. The museum has three sections, all located in the town's central square. It was officially dedicated to Stalin in 1957. With the downfall of the Soviet Union and independence movement of Georgia, the museum closed in 1989, but has since been reopened, and is a popular tourist attraction. The exhibits are divided into six halls in roughly chronological order, and contain many items actually or allegedly owned by Stalin, including some of his office furniture, his personal effects and gifts made to him over the years. There is also much illustration by way of documentation, photographs, paintings and newspaper articles. The display concludes with one of twelve copies of the death mask of Stalin taken shortly after his death. To one side of the museum is Stalin's personal railway carriage, which is armour plated and weighs 83 tons, was used by Stalin from 1941 onwards, including his attendances at the Yalta Conference and theTehran Conference.
Tsinandali Museum
The museum is located in the palace of the 19th century Prince, poet and public figure, Alexandre Chavchavadze, where one can see objects representing both the poet's life and creative work, and his époque: epistolary and iconography archive, XIX c. editions on various subjects in French, German, English, Polish, Armenian languages, XVIII c. manuscripts, works of photographer Ermakov, XVII-XIX c.c. Georgian, Russian, French furniture; Alexsander Chavchavadze in1830 laid out a decorative park which at the moment occupies 12 hectare land and there are different plants - medical, technical, etc. as well as exotic ones. In 1835 there was built one of the first in Georgia wine cellar, where are kept unique collection of wine from many countries (20.000 bottles)
G. Chubinishvili Historic-Ethnographic Museum of Telavi
Giorgi Chubinishvili Historic-Ethnographic Museum of Telavi is situated in chambers of Kakheti Kings, built in 60s of XVII century. That is a part of the "Batonis Tsikhe" (Masters Fort) compound, the historic and architectural center of Telavi. The museum complex includes memorial palace of the Kakheti king Erekle II (built in 1884-86), court church, a royal bathhouse and tunnel built by Erekle II. There is a rich collection kept in a historic-ethnographic museum. Among the exhibits, there are also materials discovered during various archeological excavations in Kakheti: unique cult figures, bronze daggers, sarcophagus of Early Feudal Times, books printed in a printing house of Vakhtang VI and Erekle II; possessions of the Bagrationi Dynasty. There is also a painting gallery, where canvases of Georgian, Russian, Dutch and Italian artists are displayed.
Simon Janashia Museum
The origins of the Simon Janashia Museum of Georgia stem from the founding of the Museum of the Caucasian Department of the Russian Royal Geographic Society on May 10, 1852. It is the main museum in Georgia and covers the history of the country from prehistoric times up to the start of the twentieth century. In 1919 the museum of Caucasus was named the Georgian Museum. Since 1947 the museum's been named after Simon Janashia, in 2004 the museum was incorporated into the Georgian National Museum. One of the most amazing exhibits in the museum is the prehistoric human remains found in Dmanisi. These remains date back to 1.8 million years and are the oldest sign of human existence outside of Africa. One of the most important collections of the museum is the Gold treasure, which consists of the unique collection of the pre-Christian (III millennium BC-IV century AD) goldsmith pieces. The unique Zoological, botanical, geological and ethnographic collections, photo archive and the video fund are also preserved in the museum
Open Air Museum
The Open Air Museum was founded on April, 27, 1966 by the famous Georgian ethnographer George Chitaia. It is located in Tbilisi, Vake district, to the west of "Turtle Lake". It occupies 52 hectares of land and houses more than 8 thousand exhibits brought from all over Georgia. The Open Air Museum exposes 14 ethnographic zones: Kartli, Samegrelo, Adjara, Abkhazia, Svaneti, Khevsureti, Kakheti, Meskheti, Javakheti, Guria, Imereti, Racha, Lechkhumi and Osetia. Each of them presents the particular historic-ethnographic area of Georgia. Together with the architectural monuments the museum exposes ethnographic materials - different kinds of tools, textile and ceramics. The museum also exposes the V-VI c. basilica of Sioni, as well as a rich collection of the grave stones in relief.
S. Amiranashvili Museum Of Fine Arts
The museum was established in 1920 by the renowned Georgian artist Dimitri Shevardnadze. The museum preserves approximately 900 hundred thousand exhibits from the medieval period up to the XX c. and few materials of the pre-Christian period. Museum is distinguished for its Georgian goldsmith pieces dated back to the VIII-XIX Centuries. The most significant exhibits are the icon of Zarzma Monastery, the Chalice of Bedia, Anchistkhati and Khakhuli Triptychs, Processional Liturgical Crosses etc. The museum also houses the unique exhibits of cut-enamel, jewelry and art textiles, medieval architecture monuments, paintings, mosaics, statues etc. S. Amiranashvili Museum of Fine Arts exposes the works of famous Georgian painters Niko Pirosmanishvili, Lado Gudiashvili, Elene Akvlediani, David Kakabadze and others. The Museum also hosts collections of Russian, Western European and Oriental (mainly Persian) artworks.
Sighnaghi Museum
Signagi Museum was established in 2007. It is the first high standard museum in Georgia. Signagi Museum exhibits Archeology, Ethnography and Medieval expositions. Most remarkable exhibition is 16 paintings by Niko Pirosmanashvili, the greatest Georgian self-taught artist of the 19-20th cc. Intensive archeological activities started in Kakheti in the 60-ies of the 20th c. Majority of the unearthed items such as household and cultic articles ranging in time from the Stone Age to the 1st c. BC, are now displayed at the Signaghi Museum. Signagi Museum features diverse ethnographic material: musical instruments, weapons, vestments and items reflecting the lifestyle of this town. Medieval exposition features samples of the 4th-18th cc. city life from the settlements of eastern Iberia. Special place at the Medieval exposition is granted to archeological finds from David Gareja monastic complex.
Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum
Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum was established in 1923 as an archive-museum. In 1972 Museum moved to two buildings at the Rabati territory in Akhaltsikhe and it was named after Ivane Javakhishvili. Today, the Museum houses the significant part of the region's cultural heritage. Totally it preserves over 25,000 objects. They include manuscripts and old printed books (parchments dating to the XI, XII, XV, and XVII cc.), photos, archaeological, numismatic, and ethnographic collections, etc. The Museum's textile collection (rugs and carpets of the verge of XIX-XX cc.) as well as collection of ancient inscriptions cut on stone are of high importance. Since December 2004 Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum is a part of the Georgian National Museum.
Svaneti History-Ethnography Museum
Svaneti Museum situates in the regional center of Svaneti - Mestia. The Museum was established in 1936 as a Local Museum. In the Museum are kept very important and valuable archaeological and ethnographical materials, rich collection of the Georgian manuscripts, icons, etc. There are high level items in the collections donated to Svaneti churches by Georgian kings. There are some items of foreign origin, like: Syrian, Sasanian Persia, from Byzantine Empire, and Venice. In 2003 the museum moved to the new building. Permanent exhibitions are presented the three halls. Collections of the Svaneti Museum are: archaeological collections - 2187 items, engraved and painted icons - 242 items, manuscripts - 68 items, metalwork - 292 items, wooden ethnographical objects - 650 items, jewelry and silverware - 421 items, textiles - 37 items.





For more information : Georgian Museums website

Tourist Sites
:: Museums
:: UNESCO Heritage
:: Archeological sites
:: Fortresses
:: Churches and Monasteries
:: Cave architecture
:: National parks
:: Mountainous sights
:: Top 30 places